Fairfax Symphony Orchestra: Sean Chen, piano

Piano 6

October 24, 2015 at 8:00 pm

George Mason Concert Hall

Sibelius: Valse Triste and Scene with Cranes
Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 2
-Sean Chen, piano
Sibelius: Symphony No. 2

Hailed as a charismatic rising star, pianist Sean Chen won over fans and critics at the 2013 Van Cliburn Piano Competition as the Crystal Award winner with “an exceptional ability to connect with an audience combined with an easy virtuosity” (Huffington Post). Chen is the first American to earn a Cliburn award since 1997, just months after being named the 2013 Christel DeHaan Classical Fellow of the American Pianists Association.

“It was a muscular, impassioned performance, and you felt that he is an artist with something to say.” – Cincinnati Enquirer

$58, $46, $34. 1 Free Student Ticket Available with Mason ID on October 13, 2015

Get Tickets

Leave a Reply